PuppyIP Resource Center
Cross-Border Platforms & Compliance 6 min Published 2026-10-16

Amazon.com insurance rules change Nov 2: $1M cover for safety categories and AIA for China-based sellers

From November 2, Amazon adds two liability-insurance requirements: products in enhanced-safety categories need coverage regardless of monthly sales, and China-based sellers must use Amazon Insurance Accelerator for new policies. Check affected ASINs, seller location and policy submission dates first.

Amazon.com commercial liability insurance Amazon Insurance Accelerator enhanced safety categories November 2, 2026

Service eligibility and regional restrictions

PuppyIP serves only compliant overseas businesses and their authorized personnel. Proxy services are not available in mainland China. The service may only be used for lawful business activities outside mainland China. Use of this service within mainland China is prohibited.

Hosting a proxy IP or server overseas does not change these restrictions. The service must not be provided to end users in mainland China through relaying, forwarding, sharing or resale. Before use, read the Terms of Service.

Key Takeaways

  • The existing Amazon.com rule still requires insurance within 30 days after a seller exceeds $10,000 in gross sales in any month, with at least $1 million per occurrence and in aggregate.
  • Starting November 2, products in categories with enhanced safety-listing requirements need coverage regardless of sales; the change applies to new and existing listings.
  • China-based sellers must obtain new policies through Amazon Insurance Accelerator (AIA). A qualifying third-party policy submitted before November 2 can remain in use until it expires.
  • Amazon’s notice does not list every affected category, AIA prices or eligibility for every type of seller. Do not apply the Amazon.com threshold to other marketplaces without checking their rules.

Two requirements take effect on November 2

In an October 2026 Seller Forums announcement, Amazon set November 2 as the effective date for two added requirements. First, products in categories with enhanced safety-listing requirements must be covered even when the seller is below the existing monthly-sales threshold. The change applies to both new and existing listings.

Second, sellers based in Mainland China must obtain new insurance policies through Amazon Insurance Accelerator (AIA). From the effective date, Amazon says it will reject newly submitted policies that were not obtained through AIA.

The $10,000 threshold remains a separate trigger

Amazon’s existing rule requires a seller to obtain and maintain commercial liability insurance within 30 days if gross proceeds from Amazon.com sales exceed $10,000 in any month. The minimum is $1 million per occurrence and $1 million in aggregate.

The new category rule adds another trigger; it does not remove the sales threshold. For example, a listing in an enhanced-safety category will need coverage from November 2 even if the store’s Amazon.com sales stay below $10,000 that month.

Check safety categories by ASIN, not by sales alone

Amazon names children’s products, cosmetics, ingestible products and lithium-battery products as examples, and says the examples are not the full list. Confirm each new and existing ASIN against Amazon’s current enhanced-safety category reference and its actual listing status.

Then verify that the policy covers the affected products. The announcement does not include the complete category list, so do not infer coverage from a product name or treat the examples as exhaustive.

China-based sellers should separate new and existing policies

A valid third-party policy that meets Amazon’s coverage requirements and was submitted before November 2 can remain in use until it expires. After expiry, China-based sellers must obtain the replacement through AIA.

If you plan to rely on that transition, check that the policy is valid, meets the coverage requirements and was actually submitted to Amazon before the date. The announcement does not specify the cutoff time zone, AIA prices or complete underwriting eligibility for individual sellers.

Use three checks to prepare before the effective date

First confirm which marketplace the products are sold on. The existing sales trigger in Amazon’s notice is explicitly based on Amazon.com sales; it should not be assumed to apply identically to every Amazon store.

Next review affected ASINs, seller location, coverage limits, policy expiry and the date Amazon received the policy. China-based sellers should also ask AIA or Amazon to confirm required documents and available options; the notice does not say that every legal entity type can obtain a policy.

Sources

Frequently Asked Questions

Does sales below $10,000 mean I do not need insurance?

Not if a listing is in an enhanced-safety category. From November 2, those products require coverage regardless of whether Amazon.com sales exceed $10,000 in a month.

Will a third-party policy submitted before November 2 stop working immediately?

Amazon says a valid third-party policy that meets its requirements and was submitted before November 2 can remain in use until it expires. China-based sellers must use AIA for a replacement policy after expiry.

Does this insurance notice cover every Amazon marketplace?

The existing sales threshold in the notice is explicitly tied to Amazon.com sales. Check the current policy for each other marketplace instead of assuming the same rule applies everywhere.

Did Amazon publish the full category list and AIA prices?

The announcement gives examples but not the full category list, and it does not state AIA premiums. Check Amazon’s current category reference and obtain an actual quote.

Can every China-based individual seller obtain insurance through AIA?

The announcement does not specify eligibility for every seller or legal-entity type. Confirm eligibility and required documents with AIA or Amazon before relying on an available policy.